You are currently viewing When is the Cricket World Cup 2023
World Cup 2023

When is the Cricket World Cup 2023

  • Post author:
  • Post category:SPORTS
  • Post last modified:October 9, 2023

The ICC Cricket World Cup started on 5th October. Cricket fans are eagerly waiting to watch thrilling matches of the Cricket World Cup, which is set to take the sporting world by storm in 2023. In this blog post, we will understand the exciting components of the Cricket World Cup 2023, from the schedule and venues to the participating teams and what we can expect from this tournament.

Cricket World Cup 2023

As we all know, World Cup 2023 is going on and different International Teams are participating to win the title. As per the World Cup 2023 Schedule, matches started on 5th October and the final cricket match is scheduled on Sunday which will be played on the 19th November 2023. 

There are various teams participating in the ICC World Cup 2023, such as Afghanistan, Australia, India, Bangladesh, England, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa and Sri Lanka. These teams are spread into two groups and they will be playing against each other to reach the finals after which they will be able to win the Championship.

Undoubtedly, Cricket lovers very well understand that as soon as match battles are finished, the winning team will come to the top of the rankings and the one which lost the match will move to the bottom. 

Cricket World Cup Venue

There are 10 venues in India that will host 48 matches. Here is the venue list:

  1. Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad
  2. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru
  3. MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai
  4. Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi
  5. Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium, Dharamsala
  6. Eden Gardens, Kolkata
  7. Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium, Lucknow
  8. Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
  9. MCA International Stadium, Pune 
  10. Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad

According to the International Cricket Council World Cup 2023 Schedule, the first match of 2023 held on 5th October, and the final match is scheduled for Sunday, 19 November 2023. The day matches are scheduled to start at 10:30 AM IST, and the day-night matches at 2:00 PM IST. 

Cricket World Cup Match List

Here is the list of Cricket World Cup 2023 matches: 

Matches Date
England Vs. New Zealand Oct 5
Pakistan Vs Netherlands Oct-6
Bangladesh Vs Afghanistan Oct 7
South Africa Vs. Sri Lanka Oct 7
India Vs Australia Oct 8
New Zealand Vs Netherlands Oct 9
England Vs Bangladesh Oct 10
India Vs Afghanistan Oct 11
Australia Vs South Africa Oct 12
New Zealand Vs Bangladesh Oct 13
India Vs Pakistan Oct 14
England Vs Afghanistan Oct 15
Australia Vs Sri Lanka Oct 16
South Africa Vs Netherlands Oct 17
New Zealand Vs Afghanistan Oct 18
India Vs Bangladesh Oct 19
Australia Vs Pakistan Oct 20
Netherlands Vs Sri Lanka Oct 21
England Vs South Africa Oct 21
India Vs New Zealand Oct 22
Pakistan Vs Afghanistan Oct 23
South Africa Vs Bangladesh Oct 24
Australia Vs Netherlands Oct 25
England Vs Sri Lanka Oct 26
Pakistan Vs South Africa Oct 27
Australia Vs New Zealand Oct 28
Netherlands Vs Bangladesh Oct 28
India Vs England Oct29
Afghanistan Vs Sri Lanka Oct 30
Pakistan Vs Bangladesh Oct 31
New Zealand Vs South Africa Nov 1
India Vs Sri Lanka Nov 2
Netherlands Vs Afghanistan Nov 3
New Zealand Vs Pakistan Nov 4
England Vs Australia Nov 4
India Vs South Africa Nov 5
Bangladesh Vs Sri Lanka Nov 6
Australia Vs Afghanistan Nov 7
England Vs Netherlands Nov 8
New Zealand Vs Sri Lanka Nov 9
South Africa Vs Afghanistan Nov 10
Australia Vs Bangladesh Nov 11
England Vs Pakistan Nov 11
India Vs Netherlands Nov 12
Semi Final 1 Nov 15
Semi Final 2 Nov 16
Final Nov 19

Cricket World Cup Prize Money

Cricket players will also receive prize money in addition to a magnificent championship trophy. In this tournament, the International Cricket Council World Cup 2023 winner will receive $4 Million, while the runner-up will get $2 Million and the losing semi-finalist team will receive $800,000 each. The winner of each cricket match in the group stage will receive $40,000 and six teams that don’t win a match for the Semi-Final round will receive $100,000.

India’s First Match With Pakistan

Undoubtedly, The India vs. Pakistan match is clearly thrilling for Indians. On 14th October in Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad the team led by Rohit Sharma will play with Pakistan. Mumbai will witness the first semi-final between the top two teams, while the second semi-final will held on 16th November in Kolkata between the third and second-place teams.

ICC World Cup 2023 Teams And Format 

For this tournament, all 2019 Cricket World Cup regulations will apply. The Cricket World Cup 2023 will follow a format that combines round-robin matches with knockout stages. The ten cricket teams—India, Australia, South Africa, England, Pakistan, New Zealand, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka, and the Netherlands.

In the round-robin phase, each team will play against every other team in a league format. This ensures that each and every team has a fair chance to prove their strength against all opponents.

Moreover, The top four teams from the round-robin stage will advance to the knockout rounds, which consist of the semifinals and the grand finale. The knockout matches are single-elimination games, where the stakes are higher than ever. A single moment of outstanding performance or a lapse in concentration can determine the destiny of a team.


In 2023, the cricketing world will come together to witness extraordinary performances, heart-stopping moments, and the crowning of a new world champion. So mark your calendars, get ready, and prepare to be part of history as the Cricket World Cup 2023 unfolds before our eyes.

So, as the cricketing world gears up for the grand spectacle that is the Cricket World Cup 2023, let’s join in the excitement and celebrate the sport that unites nations and inspires generations. This tournament is not just about who wins or loses; it’s about the love of the game, the joy of competition, and the shared passion that brings us all together.


The Cricket World Cup is scheduled in India. There are 10 venues in India that will host 48 matches.

The ICC World Cup Final will be held on 19th November 2023.

Leave a Reply